Spatial Ecology’s 2022 course

Geocomputation and Machine Learning for environmental applications

Online teaching: April and May 2022, 8 weeks

  • Every Tuesday: starting from April 5th, at 3PM - 5:45 PM UTC time (CET 4PM, EST 10AM, PST 7AM)

  • Every Thursday: ending on May 26th, at 3PM - 5:45 PM UTC time (CET 4PM, EST 10AM, PST 7AM)

In presence: June, 1 week in Matera, Italy

  • June 13th - 17th or June 20th - 24th (to be defined in accordance to the pandemic situation).

In this course, students will be introduced to an array of powerful open-source geocomputation tools and machine learning methodologies under Linux environment. Students who have never been exposed to programming under Linux are expected to reach the stage where they feel confident in using very advanced open source data processing routines. Students with a precedent programming background will find the course beneficial in enhancing their programming skills for better modelling and coding proficiency. Our dual teaching aim is to equip attendees with powerful tools as well as rendering their abilities of continuing independent development afterwards. The acquired skills will be beneficial, not only for GIS related application, but also for general data processing and applied statistical computing in a number of fields. These essentially lay the foundation for career development as a data scientist in the geographic domain.

Preliminary lectures (final program will be defined in the during February/March 2022)